Aug 08 2010

Mario Adnet & Philippe Baden Powell: AfroSambaJazz – The Music of Baden Powell

Classics Revisited


AfroSambaJazzOriginally released in 1966, Os Afro Sambas united Baden Powell and Vinícius de Moraes in what would later become a landmark recording in Brazilian music. The original release featured arrangements and musical direction by Guerra Peixe and also featured vocals by Quarteto em Cy. The original tracks were

  • Canto de Ossanha
  • Canto de Xangô
  • Bocochê
  • Canto de Yemanjá
  • Tempo de Amor
  • Canto de Pedra Preta
  • Tristeza e Solidão
  • Lamento de Exú

Since then, these classic songs have been revisited by several artists, including Mônica Salmaso & Paulo Bellinati (Afro-Sambas, Atração ATR 32001, 1995) and Clara Sandroni & Marcos Sacramento (Saravá, Baden Powell!, Biscoito Fino BF 523, 2002). In each re-recording of these songs, the repertoire varies a little, often with additional songs. Even Baden Powell put his own mark on a re-recording of the Afro Sambas in 1990 (Os Afro Sambas, Iris Musique, France).

Baden Powell

After dedicating time and research to the music of Moacir Santos, Mario Adnet felt this was the right moment to treat Baden Powell’s music and show the strong connections between the music of those two legends. Meeting with Philippe Baden Powell took place shortly after Mario had released Symphonic Jobim. As Mario says, Baden was his “first idol,” and it was through his music and guitar playing that Mario “came to know the music of people like Bach, Tom Jobim and Moacir Santos.” For Philippe, his first contact with Mario’s music was via Para Gershwin e Jobim. It was just a matter of time for these two musicians to join talents and come up with this remarkable AfroSambaJazz album.

As with anything else that carries Mario Adnet’s name, AfroSambaJazz shines from beginning to end. The fourteen tracks featured here include four of the original Afro Sambas and adds some previously unknown compositions preserved for many years in Baden Powell’s family home. The album also includes songs considered to be part of the Afro Sambas suite and recorded by other artists, such as “Berimbau.”

In addition to Mario Adnet on guitar and Philippe Baden Powell on piano, AfroSambaJazz contains a remarkable team of super talented musicians, including familiar names in other works by Mario: Marcos Nimrichter (piano, accordion), Jorge Helder (bass), Jurim Moreira (drums), Armando Marçal (percussion), Ricardo Silveira (electric guitar), Teco Cardoso (baritone sax), Jessé Sadoc (trumpet), Carlos Negreiros (vocals), Mônica Salmaso (vocals), Maucha Adnet (vocals) and many others.

The strong connections between Moacir Santos and Baden Powell are clearly evidenced right at the opening track, “Canto de Xangô.” That arrangement features Marcos Nimrichter’s piano introduction and then slowly adds Everson Moraes’ trombone solo followed by more brass, giving the entire song a typical Moacir Santos undisputable tone. “Ritmo Afro” is one of the two tracks written by other Powell family members. This was co-written by Philippe himself and the other, “Ladainha de Yansan,” was co-written by Baden’s wife, Silvia Powell. The instrumental version of “Canto de Ossanha” is a superlative rendition. The interplay among the various saxes playing the melody is truly beautiful. Here we have a perfect showcase of the use of brass — saxes, trumpet, trombone and French horn — in an unforgettable arrangement. The three vocal numbers in AfroSambaJazz are “Lamento de Preto Velho” (vocal by Carlos Negreiros), “Canto de Yemanjá” (with Mônica Salmaso) and “Yansan Suite” (with Mônica Salmaso and Maucha Adnet). All three are excellent, but “Canto de Yemanjá” is outstanding.

Mario Adnet & Philippe Baden Powell

AfroSambaJazz keeps Brazilian music in the forefront of world music. The entire production is flawless.



Mario Adnet & Philippe Baden Powell
Adventure Music AM 1059 2 (2009)
Time: 68’31”


All tracks by Baden Powell, except where noted.

  1. Canto de Xangô (Baden Powell – Vinícius de Moraes)
  2. Ritmo Afro (Baden Powell – Philippe Baden Powell)
  3. Caxangá de Oxalá
  4. Nhem Nhem Nhem
  5. Lamento de Exú (Baden Powell – Vinícius de Moraes)
  6. Canto de Ossanha (Baden Powell – Vinícius de Moraes)
  7. Lamento de Preto Velho
  8. Sermão
  9. Canto de Yemanjá (Baden Powell – Vinícius de Moraes)
  10. Pai (Baden Powell – Paulo César Pinheiro)
  11. Alodê
  12. Berimbau (Baden Powell – Vinícius de Moraes)
  13. Yansan Suite:
    Introduction to Canto de Yansan
    Canto de Yansan (Baden Powell – Ildásio Tavares)
    Ladainha de Yansan (Baden Powell – Silvia Powell)
  14. Domingo de Ramos