May 04 2004

Marcos Nimrichter: Marcos Nimrichter

Memorable Music in a Solo Debut


Marcos NimrichterBorn in Niterói, RJ (1970), arranger, composer, pianist and accordionist Marcos Nimrichter has been making music with some of the best Brazilian artists in recent years. You might not have noticed it, but Nimrichter participated in Mário Adnet’s outstanding albums Para Gershwin e Jobim (2000), Para Gershwin e Jobim – 2 Kites (2001), Villa-Lobos – Coração Popular (2001) and Rio Carioca (2002). Furthermore, he also appeared in Moacir Santos’s Ouro Negro (2001) and Mauro Senise’s Vênus (2002) as well as in Jobim Sinfônico (2002) . The common thread in all those recordings is the quality of the material and music performed. He is also a regular performer in many jazz festivals in Brazil, the United States and Europe, and he has toured with names such as Emílio Santiago, Victor Biglione, Cássia Éller, Pepeu Gomes, Al Jarreau, Youssou N’Dour and many other top-notch performers. He began studying music at age 4 in his native Niterói at the Escola de Música Santa Cecília. Later he proceeded to study at the Escola de Música at the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, where he got his degree in piano and composition.

Marcos NimrichterThis debut recording, Marcos Nimrichter, is a watercolor album of the music that comprises Nimrichter’s world. He plays jazz, samba and frevo with the ease of a pro, and a wonderful professional he is. His passion for the piano led him to explore the accordion as well. Here in this album we have the opportunity to hear just how well he blends an often forgotten instrument in some beautiful numbers. Right at the opening number in the album, “Segunda Barca,” the accordion marks its presence along with the remarkable Quinteto Villa-Lobos in this straight jazz ballad. The second track, “Resulátero,” dedicated to one of Nimrichter’s teachers (Sérgio Benevenuto), features Alberto Barreira’s tenor sax in counterpoint with Henrique Band’s baritone sax. However, it is Alexandre Carvalho’s guitar solos that grab the listener from beginning to end. Nimrichter’s spare use of synthesizer in this track are just right. He knows not to overdo. After featuring such great guest artists, it is only fair that in “Paráfrase,” Nimrichter uses the entire track for a touching piano solo rich with a series of chord progressions. “Paixão de Carnaval” brings back a mellow accordion solo. It is interesting to note that when you are just about to guess Nimrichter will make use of the accordion again in “Um Tango para um Amor,” he surprises you with a most heartfelt piano solo. The vibrant “Prudência” features the Quarteto Guerra-Peixe with cellist Hugo Pilger, and coming back for “Cara de Feliz,” the Quinteto Villa-Lobos is once again featured along with master reed virtuoso Carlos Malta on soprano sax and flutes. Nimrichter uses the electric piano and also plays fretless bass in this track. This is one of the best tracks in the album with a great beat and percussive effects created by Nimrichter himself and Márcio Bahia, Marco Lobo and Waltenir Estevão. Pantico Rocha’s drum solo is, as expected, quite impressive, too. Just before the album’s only vocal number — the last track — we are presented with a high-energy frevo double track. The “Frevo do Frei Frívolo” (now try saying that 3 times fast!) is comprised of “Márcio Bahia (O Frevo)” and “O Frei.” Bahia’s drums opening solo is simply impressive and is followed by a flute duel between Andréa Ernst Dias and Marcelo Martins in “O Frei.” Just when we are about to lose our breath in ecstasy, Nimrichter glides his fingers with a fantastic frevo solo. And all of this took place in only barely over 60 seconds in “O Frei.” The usual brass frevo sound is meticulously replaced here with piano and flute. It works like magic. Closing the album, Altay Veloso’s haunting voice echoes over Cristiano Alves’s clarinet and Nimrichter’s accordion and piano. This piece is reflective and very touching.

Marcus Nimrichter is a surprising solo album because of the richness of sounds Nimrichter creates along with his special guests. He is daring whether playing the accordion or piano and exhibits perfect control of the instruments and how they fit in his memorable music.



Marcos Nimrichter
Marcos Nimrichter
Biscoito Fino BF-567 (2003)
Time: 52’46”

All tracks by Marcos Nimrichter, except where noted.

  1. Segunda Barca – w/ Quinteto Villa-Lobos
  2. Resulátero
  3. Paráfrase
  4. Paixão de Carnaval
  5. Um Tango para um Amor
  6. Prudência – w/ Quarteto Guerra-Peixe and Hugo Pilger
  7. Cara de Feliz – w/ Quinteto Villa-Lobos
  8. Márcio Bahia (O Frevo)
  9. O Frei
  10. Querubim (Marcos Nimrichter – Altay Veloso) – w/ Altay Veloso