Sep 06 2005

Chico Pinheiro: Chico Pinheiro

Haunting Melodies


Chico Pinheiro Nearly two years after his debut Meia-Noite, Meio-Dia, Chico Pinheiro returns with yet another top-notch album. Produced by Chico himself and Swami Jr., the self-titled cd brings just as many thrills as his first album.

The musicians who contributed their talents to Chico Pinheiro include familiar names: Fábio Torres (piano), Marcelo Mariano and Serginho Carvalho (bass), Armando Marçal (percussion), Rafael Vernet (fender rhodes), Edu Ribeiro (drums), Paulo Paulelli (acoustic bass), Paulo Sérgio Santos (clarinet) and Andréa Ernest Dias (flutes). The album was arranged by Chico Pinheiro, and each musician also offered their individual contributions in all tracks. In three instances we find some beautiful string accompaniment for Gilson Peranzzetta’s arrangements. Topping all the wonderful surprises, guest vocalists are João Bosco, Tatiana Parra and the return of Luciana Alves. We also have the pleasure of hearing Chico singing in a few tracks.

The funky opener “Tocador de Violão” finds in João Bosco’s phrasing and vocal effects a perfect match. Chico and João do a nice duet with Paulo César Pinheiro’s verses praising an acoustic guitar player and Brazilian rhythms such as choro, maracatu, samba and even the non-Brazilian jazz. Incidentally, Paulo César Pinheiro’s elaborate lyrics provide the words to four songs in the album. Another great presence is that of lyricist Guile Wisnik, who contributes with three nice lyrics. Luciana AlvesWhile Pinheiro’s words tend to focus on Brazilian themes such as the guitar, the familiar rhythms and Afro influences (afoxé, candomblé, etc.), Wisnik is more emotional in dealing with love affairs, departures, solitude and similar topics. In either poetry, Pinheiro’s or Wisnik’s, Chico Pinheiro’s music finds a nice groove generally with a good dose of jazz influences. The return of Luciana Alves in several album tracks is again a delightful addition to these luxurious melodies. She possesses a certain lazy tone that is very endearing in the four tracks featuring her vocal prowess. Particularly when Chico Pinheiro adds a solo after Luciana’s singing, the nice transition from voice to guitar is mostly enchanting.

Two other lyricists lend their talents to augment Chico Pinheiro’s music: Chico César and Zé Miguel Wisnik. While César’s verses lead us to Dorival Caymmi’s sea and stormy weather afflicting a fisherman’s life, Wisnik’s poetry unites the infinite landscape of the sea with love. It is with that song, “Nosso Amor e o Mar,” that we are introduced to yet another mesmerizing voice: Tatiana Parra. Her voice is somewhat similar to Alves’, but with a more anguished and soft tone — probably because of Wisnik’s poem. In contrast with that controlled melody, she returns in “Desfile de Afoxé” and really lets loose right before Chico Pinheiro himself closes the album with a vibrant instrumental piece in which the quartet — Pinheiro (acoustic guitar), Torres (piano), Mariano (bass) and Ribeiro (drums) — take turns showing off their talents.

You can read more about this release in Chico Pinheiro’s web site.



Chico Pinheiro
Chico Pinheiro 
Biscoito Fino BF 617 (2005)
Time: 58’38”


All music by Chico Pinheiro and lyrics as indicated.

  1. Tocador de Violão (Paulo César Pinheiro) – w/ João Bosco
  2. Flashes (Guile Wisnik) – w/ Luciana Alves
  3. Tempestade (Chico César)
  4. Valsa Nº 5
  5. Encontro
  6. Mandarim (Paulo César Pinheiro) – w/ Luciana Alves
  7. Pontevedra
  8. Se Depender de Mim (Paulo César Pinheiro) – w/ Luciana Alves
  9. Nosso Amor e o Mar (Zé Miguel Wisnik) – w/ Tatiana Parra
  10. Pelo Avesso (Guile Wisnik)
  11. Nada Não (Guile Wisnik) – w/ Luciana Alves
  12. Cais dos Olhos
  13. Desfile de Afoxé (Paulo César Pinheiro) – w/ Tatiana Parra
  14. Tema em 3