Jun 12 2005

Rosa Passos: Rosa Passos Canta Antonio Carlos Jobim – 40 Anos de Bossa Nova

Celebrating Bossa Nova


Rosa Passos Canta Antônio Carlos Jobim - 40 Anos de Bossa NovaRecording Tom Jobim has not been new for Rosa Passos. However, when it was time to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the birth of Bossa Nova, it became clear that just a few songs by Jobim would not suffice. As Chediak wrote in the liner notes of the album,

“At first I thought about recording a songbook with various artists performing Bossa Nova classics. […] The idea of recording an album with Rosa Passos then came to me. I began a list of 14 tracks from various songwriters, but clearly I noticed that the first eight songs were by Jobim. […] I realized that in order to be fair, I would need to make several CDs, which was not feasible at the time. I decided to make an entire album with Jobim music that became Bossa Nova classics.”

Almir Chediak & Rosa PassosIt is also noted here that the final repertoire chosen had all been previously recorded by João Gilberto, considered the father of Bossa Nova. Well, almost all songs, that is. According to Chediak, “Inútil Paisagem” had not been recorded by Gilberto. Here the arrangement Lula Galvão created for that song is hauntingly beautiful, starting with Zé Nogueira’s touching soprano sax introduction and solo. In addition to Lula Galvão, another arranger is responsible for bringing these songs in tune with Rosa Passos’ style: Cristovão Bastos. A special arranger and guest also appears with Rosa Passos in “Garota de Ipanema.” The inimitable João Donato teams up with Galvão, Helder and das Neves to lay the foundation for Rosa’s performance in that track.



Rosa Passos
Rosa Passos Canta Antônio Carlos Jobim – 40 Anos de Bossa Nova 
Lumiar Discos LD 3702/98 (1998)
Time: 49’06”


  1. Samba de Uma Nota Só (Newton Mendonça – Tom Jobim)
  2. Corcovado (Tom Jobim)
  3. Garota de Ipanema (Tom Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes) – w/ João Donato
  4. Vivo Sonhando (Tom Jobim)
  5. Insensatez (Tom Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes)
  6. Desafinado (Newton Mendonça – Tom Jobim)
  7. Chega de Saudade (Tom Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes)
  8. Meditação (Newton Mendonça – Tom Jobim)
  9. Só em Teus Braços (Tom Jobim)
  10. Inútil Paisagem (Newton Mendonça – Tom Jobim)
  11. Outra Vez (Tom Jobim)
  12. Este Seu Olhar (Tom Jobim)
  13. Esperança Perdida (Billy Blanco – Tom Jobim)
  14. Brigas Nunca Mais (Tom Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes)