Mar 11 2005

Mario Adnet: Para Gershwin e Jobim

Two Masters


Para Gershwin e Jobim Another beautiful concept, Para Gershwin e Jobim unites two great modern composers in a fine album. Produced, arranged and directed by Mario Adnet, the album is a true gem of musicianship and performance. Some of Adnet’s usual collaborators in previous albums are here again: Hugo Fatoruso (piano), Tutty Moreno (drums), Rodrigo Campello (acoustic guitar), Zeca Assumpção (acoustic bass) as well as members of the Adnet family (Chico, Maúcha and Joana). In addition to those, we also have the distinguished pleasure of Trio da Paz (Romero Lubambo, Duduka da Fonseca, Nilson Matta), Hélio Alves (piano), Jay Ashby (trombone), Hugo Pilger (cello), Marcos Nimrichter (piano), Café (percussion), Zé Luís Oliveira (flute), Billy Drewes (soprano sax), John Bagnato (guitar), Eddie Gomez (acoustic bass), Randy Brecker (flugelhorn) and Dirceu Leite (clarinet).

There is really not much to say about Gershwin’s and Jobim’s music that has not been said before. However, Para Gershwin e Jobim is not only that.Adnet has included some of his own originals compositions, some previously recorded in other albums. The opening soothing beat of “I Got Rhythm” sets the tone for the entire album. The arrangement presented here is pure Bossa Nova with Lubambo, Fonseca and Matta bringing their swinging harmony to Alves’s great piano work. As with the other Gershwin tune featured here, “Love Is Here to Stay,” it is quite surprising how Brazilian those tunes sound in Adnet’s arrangements. The Jobim side of the album comes via “Desafinado” only. Another great Brazilian composer, Zequinha de Abreu, is responsible for the delectable “Tico-Tico no Fubá,” performed here with distinct elegance and a touch of jazz, thanks to Drews’s tenor sax solos. The other songs presented here are all by Adnet himself alone or with some of his collaborators. As expected, Adnet’s own songs are a joy to listen to and perfectly fit the scope of this great album. “An American no Samba” is gently high-spirited and features Jay Ashby’s trombone. “Jobim in Heaven” is a nostalgic piece featuring Chico Adnet on piano, Zé Luís Oliveira on flute and Ashby again on trombone. The lovely voice of Joana Adnet is enchanting (more of her presence is heard in her solo of “Love Is Here to Stay”). As for “Song for Isabella,” Marcos Nimrichter‘s presence on piano is relaxing and endearing. Though in Pedra Bonita we heard a shortened version of “Trote da Raposa,” here are treated to a full version of that fun tune. Instead of Adnet alone on guitar, we get the pleasure of a superb trio adding to the arrangement: Marcos Nimrichter (piano), Zeca Assumpção (acoustic bass) and Tutty Moreno (drums). Nice, bouncy arrangement to end a fine release.Para Gershwin e Jobim (2004)



Mario Adnet
Para Gershwin e Jobim 
Indie Records 325911001332 (1999)
Time: 47’29”


  1. I Got Rhythm (George & Ira Gershwin)
  2. An American no Samba (Mario Adnet)
  3. Desafinado (Tom Jobim – Newton Mendonça – Gene Lees)
  4. Jobim in Heaven (Mario Adnet)
  5. Chorojazz (Mario Adnet)
  6. Love Is Here to Stay (George & Ira Gershwin)
  7. Pedra Bonita (Mario Adnet)
  8. Antonia (Mario Adnet)
  9. Tico-Tico no Fubá (Zequinha de Abreu)
  10. Song for Isabella (Mario Adnet)
  11. Planeta Azul (Mario Adnet – Juca Filho)
  12. Trote da Raposa (Mario Adnet)