Feb 23 2007

Fátima Guedes: Outros Tons

A Fresh Approach!


Outros TonsMany artists have recorded works composed by Antônio Carlos Jobim. With each new attempt, listeners often find that a new recording is simply re-arranging old familiar hits. The albums are often pleasing, but nothing new is generally added to Jobim’s vast repertoire. Well, until now… Produced by Marcus Fernando and with artistic direction by Roberto Carvalho, Fátima Guedes delves outside her own songbook (the first time was with Eduardo Gudin’s music in Luzes da Mesma Luz, 2001 Dabliú DB 0102). This time, to listeners’ delight, Tom Jobim is the choice in Outros Tons. What an excellent album this is! Not only is the music fresh, but the approach to the arrangements and concept of this release is new. I have a lot of Jobim albums and tributes done to the Maestro. However, I must confess that maybe only one or two tracks in Outros Tons I had previously heard. The tracks cover Jobim’s music from 1953 to 1964. In order to tackle this “new” repertoire, Guedes used a clever approach to performing this beautiful music: voice, piano, bass and drums. The musicians playing with her are Paulo Midosi (piano), Ronaldo Diamante (bass) and Élcio Cáfaro (drums). The result is like time travel to the late 1950’s in Rio de Janeiro, as if you were in one of Rio’s famous nightclubs. On top of that, Guedes’s voice continues to amaze with her phrasing and emotion. Extra care was also taken with the liner notes. Written by Hugo Sukman, the liner notes provide the essential background for each song performed in the album. It is not only historical but also perfect for a release of this caliber. Yes, this is new Jobim music done just right. Excellent!

You can read more about this release and listen to sample tracks here.



Fátima Guedes 
Outros Tons
Rob Digital RD098 (2006)
Total time: 33’18”


All compositions by Antônio Carlos Jobim, except where noted.

  1. Na Hora do Adeus (w/ Vinícius de Moraes)
  2. Faz uma Semana (w/ João Stockler)
  3. A Chuva Caiu (w/ Luiz Bonfá)
  4. Engano (w/ Luiz Bonfá)
  5. Incerteza (w/ Newton Mendonça)
  6. Sonho Desfeito (w/ Paulo Soledad & Armando Cavalcanti)
  7. Olha pro Céu
  8. Pelos Caminhos da Vida (w/ Vinícius de Moraes)
  9. Para Não Sofrer
  10. Pensando em Você
  11. Vida Bela (Praia Branca) (w/ Vinícius de Moraes)
  12. Luar e Batucada (w/ Newton Mendonça)