Nov 25 2015

Conrado Paulino Quarteto: Quatro Climas

Beautiful Music for Every Mood!

Quatro ClimasGuitarist, arranger and composer Conrado Paulino (Buenos Aires, Argentina, 1960) started his professional career in Campinas, São Paulo, in the early 1980s. After playing in some of the local nightclubs there, he moved to São Paulo. He studied classic guitar with Jorge Molinari and Roberto Lara while still living in Argentina. After moving to Brazil, his teachers were Nelson Ayres (arranging) and Amilton Godoy (harmony and composition). He taught at the famous Zimbo Trio school (CLAM – Centro Livre de Aprendizagem Musical, or Free Musical Learning Center). Throughout his long and successful career, he has worked with a variety of well-known artists, including Alaíde CostaRosa Passos, Johnny Alf, Sueli Costa, Paulinho Nogueira and many others. As a performer, he has played at the XII BarranquiJazz in Colombia and the XII Festival Guitarras del Mundo in Argentina, just to name a couple. Whenever he finds some free time, he also contributes articles to magazines Acústico, Violão PRO, Guitar Class and Guitar Player. Currently, he teaches harmony and guitar at the School of Music of the State of São Paulo. Here in Mú, we have reviewed his solo/quartet releases previously (Conrado Paulino Discography). As far as his musical influences, he’s got the best of two worlds: he cites Baden Powell and Joe Pass as musical influences.

In this latest release, Quatro Climas, Conrado Paulino blended some of his original music along with Brazilian classics. The quartet continues its solid rise and performs beautifully. About the album title, I want to call attention to non-Portuguese speakers about a play on words in Quatro Climas. In Portuguese, the word clima is literally translated as weather, season, climate. However, it can also mean mood. Therefore, literally the album refers to the four seasons, but it also takes the listener into specific moods associated with the seasons.

Quarteto Conrado PaulinoSince the group’s 2005 release, Quarteto, its formation changed very slightly. We still find Marinho Andreotti on bass,Débora Gurgel on piano, Conrado Paulino on guitars and now Percio Sapia is on drums. Conrado Paulino also signed all arrangements, except for “Valsa Errante,” arranged by Débora Gurgel. Special guests offer that additional creative touch to this fine ensemble. Alexandre Ribeiro’s clarinet, Tatiana Parra’s voice, Léa Freire’s flute and Daniel D’Alcântara’s trumpet.

How do the seasons and moods fit in Quatro Climas? For starters you have the lively frevo opener “O Esquimó em Olinda” bringing in the summer heat with an unforgettable clarinet solo. The other summer track keeps things moving at a brisk pace with Dorival Caymmi’s “Você Já Foi à Bahia?” The samba arrangement gives everyone a chance to showcase their talents in spirited solos. At times the quartet echoes ZImbo Trio, and sometimes one can even hear a shade of João Donato here and there. Autumn is also represented with two tracks in Quatro Climas: “Gêmeos” and “A Nova Sem Nome.” In the former, the sounds now are a bit jazzier, especially since Daniel D’Alcântara’s trumpet solo paints colorful tones as in a fall landscape. I particularly love the increased tempo during his solo. The quartet shines brilliantly in both fall tracks, and I must also emphasize here the outstanding piano solo Débora adds in the “A Nova Sem Nome.” The center part of this well-crafted repertoire features three tracks with winter themes (no, not holiday themes): “Se Parar,” “Valsa Errante” and “Canto Triste.” By winter themes I mean more introspective music or deeper emotions, if mood is what you have in mind. “Se Parar” is serene as a snow-covered field, similarly as Tatiana Parra’s vocalise in “Valsa Errante” with its airy and elegant approach in contrast with its sweeping strings arrangement. Now, sit back and enjoy Conrado’s acoustic guitar solo performance in “Canto Triste.” It is evocative of the classic Black Orpheus soundtrack. It is arguably the most beautiful arrangement in this classy repertoire, and it’s only guitar! Finally, spring comes into the scene with “Me Zeni o Pet,” “Vivo Sonhando,” “It Might As Well Be Spring” and “Anna Julia.” The Pat Metheny-inspired “Me Zeni o Pet” is the first spring song of the group. Contrasting with somber winter memories, the next two tracks in this set are so appropriate. Tom Jobim‘s dreaming love anthem, “Vivo Sonhando,” and the only non-Brazilian song of the repertoire, “It Might As Well Be Spring.” Closing the album and spring set, “Anna Julia” features a nice whispered vocalise in a soft tune. It feels like you’re dancing close to your loved one and saying sweet-nothings, gently swaying to this soothing track.

No matter what mood you find yourself in, Quatro Cllimas will please you with polished arrangements, excellent performances and memorable melodies. It is indeed music for every mood.



Conrado Paulino Quarteto
Quatro Climas
Independent 5.071.265 (2015)
Time: 56’24”

Tracks (all compositions by Conrado Paulino, except where noted):

  1. O Esquimó Em Olinda – w/ Alexandre Ribeiro
  2. Me Zeni o Pet
  3. Você Já Foi à Bahia? (Dorival Caymmi)
  4. Se Parar
  5. Valsa Errante – w/ Tatiana Parra
  6. Canto Triste (Edu Lobo – Vinícius de Moraes)
  7. Vivo Sonhando (Tom Jobim) – w/ Léa Freire
  8. Gêmeos – w/ Daniel D’Alcântara
  9. A Nova Sem Nome
  10. It Might As Well Be Spring (Oscar Hammerstein – Richard Rodgers)
  11. Anna Julia (Marcelo Camelo)