May 10 2013

Andréa Dutra: Jamba

Samba in a Jazz Tradition




Jamba is what you get if you mix jazz with samba. The recipe is simple: take a few good sambas, perform them in a jazzy way and add some spices. But don’t underestimate the performance. It’ll take good musicianship to come to a satisfying result.

The Andréa Dutra Quartet has been together for more than a decade during which they performed in some of Rio’s most prestigious jazz clubs (Jazzmania, People, Rio Jazz Club and Mistura Fina). They also enjoyed a five-year presence in Rio’s defunct Modern Sound Mega (record) Store. It gave them the opportunity to gain experience by the participation of guest musicians from all over the world. Singer, composer Andréa Dutra (1964, Rio de Janeiro) also studied piano and harmony and beside that, she managed to graduate in journalism. Andréa always had an interest in jazz, samba, soul and MPB. She worked with stars like Tim Maia, Seu Jorge and Sandra de Sá. Andréa has a strong and clear voice which makes it possible to sing in a good jazz tradition. With this, she’s helped by a superb quartet of musicians. Pianist is the wonderful Paulo Malaguti Pauleira (Rio de Janeiro, 1959).

Andréa Dutra

The bass lines are divided by Augusto Mattoso (Rio de Janeiro, 1967) on the acoustic bass and Zé Luiz Maia (Rio de Janeiro, 1971; cousin of that other great bassist, Arthur Maia) on acoustic and electric basses. On drums is the fantastic rising star Rafael Barata (Rio de Janeiro, 1980). These musicians show how a jazz vocalist should be accompanied. The music on Jamba gratefully benefits from the craftsmanship of these instrumentalists.
The repertoire covers work from a wide range of composers. The most beautiful moment comes with “Medo de Amar,” perfectly sung by Andréa Dutra with lovely melodic bass lines by Augusto Mattoso. There’s a beautiful piano solo by Paulo Malaguti while drummer Rafael Barata whispers with his delicate brushes. “Branquinha” is also a true beauty. Composed by our vocalist and pianist, the song gently lets your mind drift away in Brazilian colors. “Sete Véus,” a wonderful ballad by Fátima Guedes, features the warm sound of guest musician Marcelo Martins on the tenor sax. “Mea Culpa” shows the qualities of Andréa Dutra’s composing. Once again the crystal clear recording technique attracts attention here. It’s a nice extra if the instruments sound warm and natural. Djavan‘s “A Ilha” brings the album to a satisfying end. All music was recorded live in the studio during November, 2011.

With Jamba Andréa Dutra and her fine musicians give us the possibility to feel like visiting one of Rio’s authentic jazz clubs. Just sit back and enjoy!



Andréa Dutra
Mills MIL019 (2013)
Time: 47’10”


  1. A Criação (Andréa Dutra – Fred Martins)
  2. Mandingueiro (Moacyr Luz – Aldir Blanc)
  3. Medo de Amar (Vinícius de Moraes)
  4. Obstinada (Paulo Malaguti Pauleira)
  5. Sou Eu (Moacir Santos – Nei Lopez)
  6. Muito Romântico (Caetano Veloso)
  7. Branquinha (Andrea Dutra – Paulo Malaguti Pauleira)
  8. Sete Véus (Fátima Guedes)
  9. Estilo (Paulo Bi)
  10. Mea Culpa (Andréa Dutra)
  11. Vou Procurar Esquecer (Monarco – Ratinho
  12. A Ilha (Djavan)